[Jukebox-list] eBay scam?

Jay Hennigan jay at west.net
Tue Jun 5 10:23:27 PDT 2007


Ron Rich wrote:
> Hi All,
>   Either these people do not have a clue, or this is a scam. EBay # 160124319063. A Seeburg HF 100 R D.
>   It's in no way "Mint" nor "all original". It has the wrong mech cover, the sides have been "re-done"?, and if "original", it would not play 33 rpm records, and the coin instruction window would say, "1 play Dime or Two Nickles ("D"="DIME", or 10 cent, per play factory price setting) .
>   And, What is the "Seeburg Co UK" (going to check this site now) Ron Rich

I don't think it is a scam, in that the jukebox probably exists where 
they say it is and will indeed be delivered to the high bidder.  It 
looks to me more like one of those "We'll put your stuff on EBay for a 
percentage" outfits that is clueless about jukeboxes coupled with a 
clueless owner.

Much of the description is lifted from jukebox history websites, and 
obviously inaccurate.

It looks like the box was gone through at one time, obviously repainted 
with repro instruction glasses.  I've never seen a G/W/R/J with original 
instruction glasses that weren't severely flaked off.

Clearly the "All original" and "plays both 33 and 45" are wrong.  The 
"All original" is followed by "Professionally restored to its ordinal(!) 
glory" so there's at least one inaccuracy in the opening paragraph.

I'd say it is a good deal if the price stays within reason.  The correct 
mech cover (and especially the emblem) will be tough to find at a decent 
price.  It would be nice to have some pictures of the interior and back 
door.

--
Jay Hennigan - CCIE #7880 - Network Engineering - jay at impulse.net
Impulse Internet Service  -  http://www.impulse.net/
Your local telephone and internet company - 805 884-6323 - WB6RDV


More information about the Jukebox-list mailing list